i dont need this

"i don't need this. i don't need this, i have _______. i don't need this"

the above is a quote from the movie "a league of their own". gina davis was telling tom hanks that she didn't need baseball because she had her husband and that's all she needed. and all day i realized that quote could probably pertain to any of us. we don't need this one thing we have because we have something even better to fill that need.

i thought about all the things i used to need to feel good and how all of those things were really either bad or unhealthy; promiscuity, abusive/manipulative friends, and a boyfriend who not only didn't appreciate me but didn't break up with me until had shreaded my self esteem into thin paper slices.

how i would complete the sentence now is: "i don't need other people's bull shit manifesting itself all over my emotions. i don't need people manipulating me and lying to me about their feelings and other important things. i don't need this. i have myself, i have my strength. i don't need this"

2001-11-30, 10:46 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland