self image

j.a.p.= official translation, a jewish american princess. on long island it means a girl who is high maintenance, acts like she's hot shit, dress to the nines even if she's going to the gym, wears and uses expensive things and is bitchier than she is nice.

today i went to get my hair highlighted by a friend who was a best friend in high school. i haven't seen her since. when she first saw me she didn't seem too excited even though i had heard through the grapevine that she'd been asking about me.

10 minutes into conversation and catching up she spilled about her less than excited reaction. "you looked so terribly j.a.p.ped out and high maintenance when i saw you. i was worried that you were a completely different person". she said, she was relieved, that i was the same.

i worry sometimes that people get the wrong idea about me. i really am very j.a.p.py. i barely ever leave the house without my hair blown out and straigthened and if i do it's always in some cute little pony tail. even in jeans i still wear high heels, big earrings, a face full of makeup and carry a $500 purse. i wonder if the people looking at me, who never talk to me, think that i'm one of those girls. the truth of it is, i'm just highly into fashion, i don't like my hair looking bad, and i look awful without makeup.

even my mother, my brother and my husband have all called me a j.a.p. in the past and i've always written their comments off. i figure how can i be a j.a.p. if i drive a saturn. how can i be a j.a.p. if i pay my own bills. but i guess everyone has their different opinions.

it's amazing how much we care what other people think. i wonder what kind of world it would be, if we didn't. at. all.

2005-01-29, 6:20 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland