more graphic and somehow simpler

i had written an entry a few weeks ago titled "givin' it" about a very intense experience i had with my boyfriend. the whole poem was symbolic, and regardless of how desperately i wanted to re-enact that moment through poetry, those who read it didn't know what it meant. i knew this meant i had to rewrite it. so here it is:

it was a car.

it was my sliced wrist healed up.

it was him telling me he knew about my scars,

they didn't make me crazy.

it was a knife in his car,

for god knows what reason,

and him taking that knife

and carving my initials into his arm.

there was unity in that.

power in knowing,

without having to talk about it.

this is where my voice is.

this is what you need to hear.

2003-07-22, 8:42 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland