live simply, but be complicated

i often think about throwing away all my worldly posessions in order to simplify my life and find accord with lack of material things. yet, i can imagine that once everything was gone- even my toothbrush- i would feel like an empty stadium and feel the need to rebuild what i had lost. i've been thinking the answer is more in the simplification of mind than it is in the ridding of secular objects that clutter me. maybe a room full of clothes and designer pocketbooks is gluttonous or maybe it is the constant desire i have to own these material things that is my destruction. my quest, it seems, lies in achieving a mind that is satisfied with whatever i own and coming to believe that simplicity is a state of mind rather than an action.

2002-12-26, 12:48 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland