10 persons in One Laura; Part 6- I am Honest

one thing (or compliment, really) that i hear frequently about myself is that i am so honest. i appreciate hearing it as it is the single best compliment anyone can give me.

i was having a heated discussion with some girls at work today about drug abuse to which i mentioned that i had once dated a heroin addict after coming off a bad breakup in college. one friend of mine told me that she was SHOCKED that i would have dated someone with a heroin addiction and that she honestly thought i respected myself more than that. i told her that i was 19 at the time. i told her that i dated him because of the good person he was, not because of his affliction. i told her that she was judmental and that she had hurt my feelings.

i am honest because it is my only way. i am not available to make apologizes or excuses for my mistakes because they were all a very significant piece in the map of my life. every single person i knew, hated and loved has brought me to who i am today. had i not dated a string of wrong men over the years i never would have realized that my husband is the most amazing man on earth. had i not been chastized as a teenager, i never would have learned how to hold my own against people who found me different. i am proud to tell the stories of my life because they make me the self assured and intelligent woman i am today. without them i would be like most other 25 years olds; fumbling, insecure and afraid.

2006-10-04, 7:45 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland