who we become

tonight i was bored and coming from a dr's appt so i decided upon a little evening shopping. i went over to one of my favorite shopping centers a town away from my doctor and decided i would buy some jeans.

i went into a store called "joyce leslie" (which, for those of you who don't know it, is a slutty clothing store) and picked out some jeans i liked. the path from the jean section to the fitting rooms was strange and i enveloped my surroundings. i felt uncomfortable admist the chit-chat of boyfriends and "senior year". i felt out of sorts when i saw a young girl shopping with her mother. i felt i had to leave when a 17 yr old worker rolled her eyes at me.

i walked down the shopping center to bed bath and beyond; a home store. i walked briskly through the aisles having memorized each section and knowing just where to look. i eventually happened upon some linens i had wanted and brought them to the register for purchase. the cashier smiled as she handed me my receipt.

upon my exit, for the first time since marriage/the 9-5 job/the house, i felt good that i belonged amongst the women and not the girls.
it, finally,
felt good
to be a grown up.

2006-04-27, 8:11 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland