you never get a second chance to make a first impression

of course.
the day before easter i bought a new outfit.
following tradition i bought pastels
and my skirt looked hooped
and i looked
something out of 1950.
easter morning i tied a bow in my hair
and headed over to a family friend's house
who i spend every holiday with.
she has two sons.
i call them my brothers.
one of my "brothers" has a new girlfriend.
and though i am tattooed and vulgar
to anyone who knows me well,
i got the distinct impression that this
girlfriend
thought i was donna reed.
maybe it was the bow.
maybe it was my excellent posture at dinner.
maybe it was my comment about how
i'd really love to
start crocheting
since all i EVER do lately
is shop, clean and bake.
she didn't like me.
later in the day
whenenever i spoke,
she smiled politely
but i could see her mind processing.
hours later,
in my yellow and mint green outfit
and lavender trench
i departed, kissing each of them,
even her,
on the cheek.
it made me laugh as i left to think
that this girl had decided about me
and knew nothing about me.
i truly am the sour patch kid
that must be sucked on until the
bitterness wears off.

2005-03-30, 12:47 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland