my favorite kid

my neice clarissa, who's 3 1/2, is just like me and i adore her for it.

last night on our way to the nail salon, i bitched to her mother/my best friend about my fiance and clarissa listened intensely. she doesn't yet comprehend about men and know to add comments like "eww i can't believe he was such a jerk" but she does say things like "hey aunt laura, i love your hair like that" so she's one of the girls.

she and i sat getting our pedicures side by side and then she insisted on getting the hot pink color on her toes on her fingernails as well. clarissa is a pro at the nail salon; moving slowly as not to mess up her newly polished nails and sits very still during her manicures. and when the manicurist brought her over to the nail dryer she said "where's my massage?" (it was a different salon, and at her salon the manicurist always rubs the clients back at the nail dryer)

she's smart and sassy and wears jeans with pink sparkles on them. when she and i converse it would be hard for anyone to know i was talking to a 3 yr old unless they saw her in person; i talk to her exactly like an adult.

on the ride home from the salon i was asking clarissa if she thought i would make a good mother some day and she said she wasn't sure, how could she know until the baby got here. sometimes that kid is so wise, she really puts me in my place.

2005-01-04, 8:15 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland