my favorite bag

the other night my mom told me she wanted to go to the mall and she needed me to come, which of course i did not hesitate about because, like i told her, shopping is my favorite thing to do.

when we got there i asked her if she had purchased all of my christmas gifts yet and she said no that she still had one thing left. i asked her if the last thing was something inexpensive or expensive and when she said it was the latter, i brought her to macy's.

i begged her to buy me a pocketbook i saw months ago and fell in love with and had since come back to visit several times. it was expensive and something that if i bought it for myself i would feel really guilty about. when i first saw the price tag i had hoped it was leather and that i couldn't have it and that was what would make it ok, but it turned out to be all man made materials and that made not having it even worse.

when i showed her the bag, which is pink and silver blend, with 152 rhinestones and looks like something out of sex and the city, she said it was silly looking and too expensive and that she would MAYBE buy it for me for christmas and to put it down. yet at that moment i got another glimpse of myself in the mirror with it paraded on my shoulder and headed towards the cash register.

"what are you doing?" she asked

"i'm buying it for myself for christmas"

"laura, i'll buy it for you, just not now"

"well i want it now" i said

"that's ridiculous"

"i can't live another minute without it"

"are you kidding me? why can't you wait?" she asked

"because i can't live not knowing whether or not you're actually coming back here for it and that some other girl, who isn't even as cool is me, will be walking around with it on her shoulder and then i'll come back and they'll all be gone and my life will be ruined"

she let me buy it. i would like to thank visa for my happiness with my new accessory.

2004-12-12, 6:49 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland