i'm doing fine

disclaimer: this entry was written to show the faults, insecurity, ignorance and unrealistic ideals of women in our society. it was written to show that sometimes women (and men too but i'm talking about women now) will do anything to look "beautiful" by certain standards. hopefully you read it and are disgusted by the last paragraph; i certainly was.

i lost a total of 90 pounds in my efforts to lose weight and i did it by starving myself. some of you might have been able to assume that. others might not, it doesn't matter. along my path a lot of people questioned me and wanted to know how i was doing it and doing it so quickly. i always had to lie and say i was cutting calories or that it was because i was working out. i always thought it would be so relieving if one day i could just tell someone right to their face what i had really done, just so i could stop lying.

the other day a customer came into my store and told me she had lost 80 pounds. at this point, if someone doesn't know i've lost weight i don't ever bring it up, but for whatever reason this day i did. she asked if i had a picture of myself at my heaviest. i said i did and i showed it to her. she said the transformation was amazing and asked me how i did it. i looked her right in the face and said "i starved myself. i went 5-6 days at a time without putting anything in my stomach. when i did eat i would have an apple or a piece of wheat toast, but mostly i lived on diet coke and cigarettes. " these were words i had only ever told very close friends way after the starvation was over and now i was saying it to a stranger. it was a scary thing to have said outloud but it felt good to be honest. i was anticipating that her shock and disapproval would reassure me that my recovery from anorexia was healthy and the fact that i was eating now was a big achievement, one i should be proud of.

her response: oh my god, that's awesome! i could never have done that. you have so much will power. god, if i could have starved myself i definitely would have. i had to go to fucking weight watchers. well good for you sweetie. keep up the good work.



2004-04-26, 8:12 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland