you give good love

Main Entry: boy�friend

Pronunciation: 'boi-"frend

Function: noun

Date: 1896

1 : a male friend

2 : a frequent or regular male companion of a girl or woman

3 : a male lover

i don't have a "boyfriend". i have boyfriends. male and female. and i credit them under the title "boyfriend" because i know it is a word that society holds very high against you as a sign of emotional success. my boyfriends are not of the sexual nature nor do they ever go beyond the boundaries of friendship. but they're more powerful than any romance i've dipped into and have more strength than any war i've battled thus far with any single man. my boyfriends are the ones who call me after to work to see if i'd like to get coffee and smoke and talk for hours and i do. my boyfriends are the ones who rent movies they know i'll like and invite me to watch along with them. they are the ones who call me everyday just to hear about every little bullshit detail of my life. they are the "friends" who hug me at that moment that i fear i've gone a second too long without human touch. these boyfriends have already identified my strengths and weaknesses and haven't an opinion on them. they are the other side of my brain; always reminding me to eat right, and think twice about who i get myself involved with. they each battle for me the winds my face is too chapped to bare and the sorrows too low to sink into. they create separate and momentary growths in my war against disease. they create safe zones for me for those nights when i've faced it all and vomitted and in that last hour, simply couldn't anymore. they leave room for the time i need to let everything hurt- as much as they want to step in and dissolve it. because they have each individually given me bites of their wisdom i am stronger and forever changed in my own eyes. because before this, them, my boyfriends, i reflect back to a girl who was lost and trapped in a relationship that was eating her alive. and who possibly would have died during it had there not been the hope that people would come and give her the tools to build everything back up that had been brought down upon her. although i kid and speak not often enough about the importance of my boyfriends, it is they who have made every day worth living for because i finally realize that words are permanent, life is spiraling and everything worth anything takes patience. i am grateful for everything i am and for my boyfriends who have taught me that life is to be lived in, tasted and saturated in a state of mind that mirrors all that is true. i am forever thankful to:

andrew

steve

cossette

shannon

erin

sue

alyson

richard

ocean

and jon

you each give beauty a new definition.

2002-10-01, 12:52 a.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland