with poems on top

this is my favorite poem by anne sexton...which says a lot because i am impressed by and devoted to each and every word she's ever spoken or written. it speaks to me in volumes and i feel as though she wrote it while reading my mind and viewing a videotape of my life. i hope that if you have never read her work this poem will inspire you to go out and buy every book she's ever published.

THE ADDICT:

Sleepmonger,

deathmonger,

with capsules in my palms each night,

eight at a time from sweet pharmaceutical bottles

I make arrangements for a pint-sized journey.

I am the queen of this condition.

I'm an expert on making the trip

and now they say I'm an addict.

Now they ask why.

Why!

Don't they know

that I promised to die!

I'm keeping in practice.

I'm merely staying in shape.

The pills are a mother, but better,

every color and as good as a sour ball.

I'm on a diet from death.

Yes, I admit

it has gotten to be a bit of a habit-

blows eight at a time, socked in the eye,

hauled away by the pink, the orange,

the green and white goodnights.

I'm becoming something of a chemical

mixture.

That's it!

My supply

of tablets

has got to last for years and years.

I like them more than I like me.

Stubborn as hell, they won't let go.

It's a kind of marriage.

It's a kind of war

where I plant bombs inside

of myself.

Yes

I try

to kill myself in small amounts,

an innocuous occupation.

Actually, I'm hung up on it.

But remember I don't make too much noise.

And frankly no one has to lug me out

and I don't stand there in my winding sheet.

I'm a little buttercup in my yellow nightie

eating my eight loaves in a row

and in a certain order as in

the laying of hands

or the black sacrament.

It's a ceremony

but like any other sport

it's full of rules.

It's like a musical tennis match where

my mouth keeps catching the ball.

Then I lie on my altar

elevated by the eight chemical kisses.

What a lay me down this is

with 2 pink, 2 orange,

2 green, 2 white goodnights.

Fee-fi-fo-fum--

Now I'm borrowed.

Now I'm numb.

2001-08-01, 1:34 p.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland