can't beat that!

Shannon and I have discussed in length the hilarity of older people who use phrases like "I slay me" and "not for nothing but..." in every day life.

My mother is a sucker for stupid sayings like that. She's always saying werdo things like "well for Pete's sake". I always say "who the hell is Pete?" My top 3 phrases that my mother says, that are funny because they make no logical sense are:

We were in a clothing store recently and she saw a pair of pants she liked that were buy one and get the second at half price. Then she said "well, nothing's better than that". Well yes, mom, there are things better than that. For one, getting the second one for FREE would be better. Also, things like world peace, the cure for AIDS and the ending of child abuse would be a lot better than a sale at NY & CO

Ok this one she uses all the time but I'll give you a specific example. I'll come home from shopping and tell her I bought a book. She'll ask how much it was and I'll tell her $9. "Nine dollars?" she'll say, "can't beat that!". Um, actually mom, you can beat that- $8, $7, etc.

This last one will make you laugh. Today my mother and I were recycling soda bottles at a local grocery store for the 5 cent deal. After recycling every bottle we counted up our quarters. "$7.50, boy that's nothing to sneeze at!" Right mom, right.



2001-07-23, 10:34 a.m.
design by bluechicken

previous����next


die
live
mail
profile
dland